M.T, Seethakanth get Kendra Sahitya Akademi Fellowship

Chennai: Famous Malayalam litterateur and scriptwriter MT Vasudevan Nair has been selected for the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Fellowship, the highest honour in the literary world in the country.

Oriya author Seethakanth Mahapatra also received the fellowship along with M.T.

Prior to M.T, Vaikom Muhammad Basheer, Thakazhi Shivasankara Pillai, Balamani Amma and Kovilan are the others from Kerala to have received the honour. M.T who had received the Jnanpith Award in 1996, was later honoured with Kerala Sahitya Akademi Fellowship in 2005.

He is also a recipient of Ezuthachan Award, Padmabhushan and Kerala Sahitya Akademi awards. M.T is also known for his remarkable contributions to Malayalam cinema both as director and scriptwriter.

M.T is one of the most prolific and versatile writers in modern Malayalam literature. Most of his works are oriented towards the basic Malayalam family structure and culture.